Gravinold Broom, the Boy Who Was not a Duck

Standard

Gravinold Broom was nine when he decided that it was time to become a duck. Ducks, he thought, were the best, and to be one would be the best thing for Gravinold Broom.

“How can I become a duck?” He asked his teacher.
“You cannot become a duck,” they replied.
“I will ask others!” Said Gravinold, and he did.
“How can I become a duck?” He asked his mother and father individually.
“You cannot become a duck,” they each replied.
“I will ask others!” Said Gravinold, and he did.
“How can I become a duck?” He asked his nine uncles after gathering them in in the same room.
“You cannot become a duck,” they all replied in unison.
“I will ask others!” Said Gravinold, and he did.
“How can I become a duck?” He asked the Tzar.
“You cannot become a duck and you shouldn’t be asking me anyway,” said the Tzar.
“I will ask others!” Said Gravinold, and he did.
“How can I become a duck?” He asked a duck.
It said nothing and walked away.
This convinced Gravinold that he would not become a duck and would instead be sad forever.
And he was.
Leave a Reply

